Qualifying Periods and Standards

2022 AWF Qualifying Periods and Standards

2019 - 2022 High Performance Plan

2019 - 2022 High Performance Squad Program


High Performance Commission

The High Performance Commission (HPC) consists of experts in a range of areas relating to high performance sport and who possess experience in high performance weightlifting coaching. The HPC is chaired by a member of the AWF Board of Directors (BOD) who also possess the above qualifications and who reports on the Commission’s activities, decisions and recommendations directly to the BOD. The HPC is responsible for directing the implementation of the AWF High Performance Plan, monitoring performance, and reviewing the AWF High Performance Program.

  • Lyn Jones (Chair)
  • Luke Borreggine
  • Gregory Haff
  • Julian Jones
  • Robert Mitchell
  • Angela Wydall
  • Sam Coffa (Ex Officio)
  • Ian Moir (Ex Officio)

State Coordinators

State High Performance Program Coordinators provide an initial point of contact and source of information for athletes who are included in any one of the AWF’s High Performance Squads, and their Coaches. State HP Coordinators work cooperatively with the AWF High Performance Commission, State Member Associations, Coaches and Athletes, to achieve High Performance goals.

  • ACT & NSW Coordinator - Luke Borreggine
  • NT & QLD Coordinator - Miles Wydall
  • SA & WA Coordinator - Jay Saxton
  • TAS & VIC Coordinator - Harvey Goodman

Performance Pathway

The AWF Performance Pathway Program provides an introduction to High Performance weightlifting for young athletes who are identified as future Australian representatives. The Pathway Program is overseen by the Performance Pathway Manager who is responsible for developing and improving the effectiveness of the performance pathway to successfully support and progress talented athletes to achieve medal winning performances in the future.

  • Performance Pathway Manager – Greg Hobl